#Article (Archive)

Chimo United spank Bere to lift Brikama Knockout title

Dec 2, 2013, 10:27 AM | Article By: Lamin Darboe

Chimo United came from one nil down to beat Berewuleng 2-1 to clinch the 2013-2014 Brikama Knockout title in a well-contested final game played at the Brikama Box Bar Mini Stadium on Friday.

Berewuleng were the better side in the opening minutes of the game with serious assaults and goal-scoring chances against Chimo United.

They opened the scores through tallish man Buba Faye alias Olumo in the 7th minute of the game from a penalty spot after Chimo United defender Yankuba Ceesay handled the ball inside the eighteen- yard box to send Berewuleng fans into jubilation.

Abdoulie Fofana could have extended the lead for Berewuleng in the 11th minute of the game after breaking through Chimo United’s defence but his shot was denied by Chimo United’s net minder Kemo Camara.

Striker Dembo Darboe came very close to levelling the scores for Chimo United in the 12th minute of the game but his shot was denied by Berewuleng’s Musa Sukuna resulting in a 1-0 advantage for Berewuleng by half-time.

As actions resumed in the second half, Chimo United regrouped themselves and dominated the game, launching several attempts to level the scores, which later paid dividend through striker Dembo Darboe in the 47th minute of the game, after he beat Berewuleng offside trap to cancel out Buba Faye’s 7th minute strike from the penalty spot.

Jerreh Touray netted the winner for Chimo United in the 57th minute of the game after slashing through Berewuleng’s defence to realise Chimo’s knockout triumph, after they failed to defend their 2012 league crown.

Striker Buba Faye alias Olumo could have leveled the scores for Berewuleng in the 63rd minute of the game from a penalty spot but he blasted the shot over the bar thus the game ended 2-1 in favour of Chimo United.

As champions, Chimo United walked away with a giant trophy and cash prize of D15,000, presented by the president of the Gambia Football Federation (GFF), Mustapha Kebbeh, whilst Berewuleng received D10,000 as runners-up.

Dembo Darboe of Chimo United was voted man of the match with a trophy.

The knockout final was graced by GFF president Mustapha Kebbeh, first-vice president Buba Star Janneh, second-vice president Kebba K. Touray and other dignitaries.