#Article (Archive)

Cricket titles won by St. Augustine’s and St. Joseph’s(As Jewel defend T20 championship title)

Jun 17, 2015, 11:07 AM

St. Augustine’s Upper Basic School has won the 2014/2015 Senior/Junior Secondary School boys cricket league by 6 wickets.

The final’s was played in the true “Spirit of the Game’ and was watched by school children and cricket lovers.

They played St. Joseph’s Upper Basic School last Thursday at the 22nd July Square cricket grounds in Banjul.

The toss was won by St. Joseph’s Upper Basic School and set St. Augustine’s Upper Basic School to bat. They did bat and scored 68 runs for 5 wickets in 15 overs played.

Lamin Touray batted for them and scored 17 runs, which was the highest for them. He also bowled and took 5 wickets for 11 runs in 3 over bowled.

St. Joseph’s Lower Basic School batted in the second innings and were all out for 38 runs in 10.4 overs played.

Ebrima Savage batted for them and scored 7 runs the highest for them. Ebrima Janko bowled for them and took 2 wickets for 3 runs in 2 overs bowled.

The 2015 Primary School Boys Cricket League competition was lifted by St. Joseph’s Lower Basic Circle School who beat Albion Lower Basic School in the final.

The winner and runner-up received trophies and certificates while each of the participating schools went home with a certificate of participation.

Mr Pascal Camara of National Sports Council, deputizing the executive director, thanked the association for taking to the schools and developing the youths, which he described as a good thing.

He also thanked schools for participating in the tournament as well as the games masters for assisting the coaches in preparing the students.He urged schools that were knocked out in the early stage to embrace the game, train hard and become winners for their school.

The winner and the runner up each went home with a trophy and certificates.

Other schools that participated in the competition also received certificates of participation.

In another development, defending T20 champions Jewel of India Cricket Club again defended their 2014/2015 championship title in the final league match played on Sunday 14 June 2015 against the young starts Saints. Jewel of India won the title by 26 runs.

As winners, Jewel of India Cricket Club received a trophy with a cash prize of D10,000 while runners-up Saints collected D5,000.

All teams that participated in the tournament each received D1,500 as consolation prizes.

The occasion was graced by the deputy permanent secretary, Ministry of Youths and Sports, teams, invited guests, sports personnel, cricket lovers, and school children.