#Article (Archive)

Abdoulie Bojang is new Speaker

Nov 15, 2010, 12:30 PM | Article By: Lamin B. Darboe

Members of the National Assembly Friday unanimously elected Hon. Abdoulie Bojang as the new Speaker of the National Assembly, replacing Mrs Elisabeth Renner, whose nomination was recently revoked by President Yahya Jammeh.

Bojang, a retired teacher, was until the time of his election the deputy speaker of the National Assembly.

He was elected unopposed following his nomination by Hon. Fabakary Tombong Jatta, the majority leader and member for Serrekunda East constituency. The nomination was seconded by Hon. Momodou Lamin Sanneh, minority leader and member for Kiang West constituency.

The election, described by both sides of the house as free and fair, was presided over by the Chief Justice of the Gambia, Justice Emmanuel Agim.

In proposing the election of Abdoulie Bojang, Hon. Fabakary Tombong Jatta described the new Speaker as a humble, loyal and committed man, whose social interaction with people, especially parliamentarians and parliamentary staff, is unequal.

"I have no doubt that with our support as members of the National Assembly, Bojang will be a competent person to move this house to higher heights," Jatta told MPs.

The minority leader, Hon. Momodou Lamin Sanneh, buttressed the statement of the majority leader about Bojang.

"During his last four years of service in the National Assembly, Bojang has proven himself and it is our conviction that he will do better and work for the interest of this country," Sanneh said.

In his acceptance speech, Speaker Bojang commended President Jammeh for the trust and confidence he has in him by nominating him as a member of the National Assembly since 2007.

He also commended both sides of the house, through the majority and minority leaders, for the support and recognition in the build-up to his election.

According to him, this is a rare occurrence, and the convergence is an indication of the high expectations members of the National Assembly have under his leadership.