#Article (Archive)

Super Nawettan Draw Saturday

Nov 3, 2009, 3:24 PM | Article By: Lamin Darboe

The draw for the 2009 Super Nawettan zonal football tournament organised and coordinated by the Gambia Football Association (GFA) will take place on Saturday 7th November 2009, at the Independence Stadium in Bakau.

The annual zonal football is competed by eight major Nawettan, namely Banjul, Serekunda West, Serrekunda East, Bakau, Brikama, Gunjur, Lamin and Sukuta and the zone would be divided into two groups of four teams.

The last tournament was sponsored by President Yahya Jammeh, and the winner went home with a giant trophy and a cash prize of D50, 000, while runners-up received 30, 000 and the six other zones each received D10, 0000 as the consolation prize.

The championship enable the local Nawettan players to showcase their skills and talents which would allow the GFA Premier League and Second Division team coaches scout players ahead of the new league in The Gambia.

The tournament was totally dominated by Banjul, Bakau and Serrekunda East zonal, respectively. Sukuta and Lamin are the only zones managed to lift once in the annals of the competition, while Serrekunda West, Gunjur and Brikama are yet to lift the championship since its inception in early 90s.

It could be recalled that Bakau were the champions of last year’s after edging out Banjul 2-1 in the final play, at the Serrekunda East Mini Stadium, while Serrekunda East occupied third place, after defeating Gunjur 1-0 in the third place play-off.