#Article (Archive)

Major Nawetan zones bracing up for Super Nawetan

Nov 10, 2014, 11:16 AM | Article By: Lamin Darboe

Major Nawetan zones in this part of the country have started gearing up for the 2014 Premier Games-sponsored Super Nawetan zonal football championship set for 24 November 2014.

Theannual championship is expected to bring together twelve major zones, the champions Serrekunda West, runners-up Brikama, Bakau, Banjul, Serrekunda East, Serrekunda Central, BEM, Manjai, Sukuta, Brufut and Gunjur.

Banjul, Bakau and Serrekunda East have won the championship more than any other zone, since the inception of the championship in the 90s. Lamin have won the championship twice, Brikama, Sukuta and Serrekunda West once in their history. Gunjur, Brufut, BEM and Serrekunda Central are yet to clinch the Super Nawetan trophy.

They will be fighting tooth and nail to win their games in order to fancy their hopes of clinching their first-ever super nawetan title after several years of a trophy drought.

The championship attracts more spectators and more ambience than the country’s domestic leagues; produces good football and generates more funds than the domestic leagues which usually attract a low turnout.

The country’s coaches for the domestic league clubs and national teams use the Super Nawetan zonal football championship to scout for good players, including for the U-17, U-20, U-23 and the senior nation team.

It would be recalled that Serrekunda West beat Brikama 1-0 in a well-contested match played at the Independence Stadium in Bakau to clinch their first-ever Super Nawetan title last year, after several year of a trophy drought.