#Article (Archive)

Magadan Crowned Bakau Champions

Jul 21, 2009, 7:42 AM | Article By: Lamin Drammeh

Magadan were on Saturday 18th July 2009 awarded a giant trophy and a cash prize of D5,000, after clinching the first-ever Bakau Youth Football Tournament with a crucial 4-3 penalty shoot-out win against Spy's in the final, played at the Steve Biko football field in Cape Point.

The tournament which was sponsored by one of the most popular GSM operators in the country-Africell witnessed a massive turnout from the spectators, who expressed satisfaction for what they described as a successful organisation of the championship.

Magadan opened the scoring as early as 14th minute on the clock, courtesy of Ebrima Jallow's clever finished, following a terrible mistake by the goalkeeper.

Magadan defenders were made to pay the prize for failing to mark star striker Kebba Jammeh, otherwise called Akawho who wasted no time in slotting home his side's leveller after an unselfish passed from wing left Yaya Dibba in the 68th minute.

Spy's put up a remarkable performance in both intervals but all their brilliant attacking options and dominance in the middle were no good enough to earn them a happy moment.

Spy's collected a cash price of D3, 000 as the runners-up.

In an exclusive interview with Africell's Marketing Manager, Papa Leigh spoke at length about the importance of the tournament, noting that "this is one way of promoting and encouraging grassroots sports, particularly football".

Mr. Leigh added that the tournament will also go a long way in trying to bring the youths together in order to strength the relationship among them.

He revealed that the reason of Africell being the sponsored of this tournament is part of its effort to promote and encourage grassroots sports.

Bakary Darboe, the President of the Bakau Youth Football Tournament outlined the numerous challenges they faced during the tournament. But he was quick to add that the championship was a success. He promised that the tournament would be transformed into an annual championship.