#Article (Archive)

U-20 recover from financial crisis ahead of Ivory Coast clash

Oct 20, 2010, 2:24 PM | Article By: Lamin Drammeh

The Gambia Football Association (GFA) has made a remarkable recovery from its much talked about financial crisis, according to reports reaching us from the GFA announcement that the financially constrained U-20 team "will travel to Ivory Coast today" for Saturday's clash in Abidjan ahead of what could be a crucial final match.

The announcement came in the wake of a shocking news that emanated from the GFA treasurer, Kemo Ceesay, that the team's chances of travelling to Cote D'Ivoire for the final rounds of the qualifiers hanged in the balance, citing financial incapability as the reason.

But the good news for the Gambian people is that the GFA has secured the needed funds for the team's trip to Ivory Coast where they are expected to begin the defence of their 1-nil home win over Ivory Coast as they continue to thrive for their first African U-20 youth championship title.

However, sources close to the GFA have told Pointsport that it has secured the needed funds for Saturday's crucial second and final rounds of the qualifiers.

The GFA has wasted no time in releasing the list of 18 players that will travel to Abidjan in the early hours of Wednesday.

The team that beat Sierra Leone 3-1 on aggregate to advance to the final huddle will also be enjoying the services of three foreign-based stars, namely Saihou Gassama, Omar Jassey and Ebrima Camara, who were all instrumental in helping the team reach the final stage of the qualifying campaign.

The players in the 18-man squad are goalkeepers Musa Camara and Alagie Nyabally, Omar Colley, Lamin Sarjo Samateh, Ebrima Camara, Lamin Samateh, Abdou Njie, Lamin Gibba, Saihou Gassama, Mustapha Jatta, Mamut Saine, Baboucarr Jammeh, Sainey Manneh, Omar Jassey, Buba Jallow 'Meles', Cherno Njie, Alasana Camara, and Pateh Nyang, who has recently signed a four-year professional contract in Croatia.

The delegation, headed by Saikou Bah Ceesay, also includes seven officials.