#Article (Archive)

Taiwan speaker arrives for 22nd July anniversary

Jul 21, 2010, 2:58 PM | Article By: Nfamara Jawneh

The special envoy of President Ma Ying-Jeou of the Republic of China on Taiwan arrived in Banjul yesterday, at the head of a high-powered ROC delegation to attend the 16th anniversary celebration of the July 22nd Revolution. The emissary, Jin-Pyng Wang, who is the President of the Legislative Yuan in Taiwan, is staying at the Coco Ocean hotel. Jin-Pyng Wang arrived on Tuesday afternoon with SN Brussels airlines leading a 15-person delegation, and was received on arrival at Banjul international airport by his Gambian counterpart, Honourable Elizabeth Renner, Speaker of the National Assembly. Dr. Momodou Tangara Minister of Foreign Affairs, International Cooperation and Gambians Abroad, and Lamin Kaba Bajo Minister of Fisheries, Water Resources and National Assembly Matters was also at the foot of the aircraft to meet the visiting ROC dignitaries.

Also present at the airport to welcome the Taiwanese delegation was the ROC ambassador to the Gambia Richard Shih, National Assembly members and a cross section of the Taiwanese community in Banjul.

Speaking to reporters shortly after his arrival, Jin-Pyng Wang conveyed warmest greetings to the government and people of the Gambia from Taiwan.

"Knowing very well that July 22nd is a day of great significance to The Gambia, H.E Ma Ying-jeou, President of the Republic of China, appoints me as the special envoy to lead a delegation to attend the 22nd celebrations and to extend, on behalf of the government and people of republic of China, our felicitations and best wishes to the people and government of The Gambia", he announced.

The envoy revealed that, while in the Gambia, he would have an audience with President Yahya Jammeh to convey President Ma's personal message, and pay a visit to Hon. Elizabeth Renner, Speaker of the National Assembly.

He further told reporters that the visit would enable him to acquire first-hand information on cooperation projects between the two countries.

Jin-Pyng Wang's delegation comprises six legislators namely, Hon. Fong-Chi Chu, Hon. Hsiu-Chu Hung, Hon. Wei-Kang Pan, Hon. Li-Huan Yang, Hon. Li-Yun Chao, Hon. Ting-Son Wang, the Vice Minister of Foreign Affairs Ssu-Tsun Shen, and other high-ranking officials.