#Article (Archive)

Star Light, Farato share spoils in 3rd Division Triangular

Mar 10, 2011, 3:17 PM | Article By: Cherno Omar Bobb

Farato United on 8 March 2011 came from a goal down to secure a 1-1 draw with Star Light FC of Banjul in the ongoing 3rd Division Triangular qualifiers played at the Serrekunda East Mini-Stadium.

The first chance of the game fell to Farato United when Simon Mendy had a chance to put his side ahead but he was let down by his finishing strategy with only 20 minutes on the clock.

Seven minutes later, Star Light found themselves 1-nil up courtesy of a Lamin Joof strike when he headed home from a close range finish.

Farato United’s Musa Sarjo could have levelled the score in the 67th minute but missed another great opportunity to put his name on the score-sheet.

And Farato United’s struggle was finally rewarded with an equalizer thanks to Sutay Sowe’s clinical finish in the latter part of the second period.

In a separate development, Toubakolong Nooran Football Tournament organised by Toubakolong Youth and Sports Committee, is billed for Saturday, 26 March 2011 at the Toubakolong football field.

The final of the 10-team tournament sponsored by Ousman Sowe, will feature Naimbelly United and Toubakolong United in what is expected to be a mouth-watering showdown between the two most impressive teams in the tournament.

Naimbelly United made it to the final after beating Bakarrr FC by a goal to nil in their semi-final encounter played at the Toubakolong playground on Friday, 4 March 2011.

Landing Gomez (alias Lefo) scored the only goal of the game for Naimbelly outfit, which saw his side earn a place in the final.

In the other semifinal tie played on 5 March 2011 at the Toubakolong football field, the home team in Toubakolong advanced to the final at the expense of Pakau Saloum, who they defeated 4-2 on a post-match penalty shootout after the regulation period failed to produce a winner in a pulsating goalless draw.

The participating teams in the Nooran tournament are Toubakolong United, Naimbelly United, Ron Mango FC (all from Toubakolong Village), Sitanunku FC, Sitanunku Lodge FC, Pakau Saloum FC, Bakalarr FC, Medina Sedia FC, Mbanta FC and Juffereh FC.