#Article (Archive)

Sports Journalists Association's annual award

Mar 31, 2010, 9:42 AM

The Organising Committee of the Annual National Award of the Sports Journalists Association of The Gambia has the pleasure to inform the public that the award for the year 2009, is scheduled for Saturday 10 April, 2010, at the Independence Stadium Friendship Hostel Garden at 1900hrs. The committee congratulates all nominees for their exemplary performance in 2009, and wishes them good luck.

The Annual National Award is meant to recognise and encourage men and women in sports, as well as corporate bodies and institutions for their outstanding performance over the period.

"We believe this will encourage healthy competition among sports men and women and would further help enhance excellence in sports in The Gambia as enshrined in our country’s development blue print; the Vision 2020."

After months of scrutiny of the performance of athletes in the disciplines of football, cricket, lawn tennis, athletics, and Paralympics and also the performance of journalists the award committee has finally nominated candidates to run for the various 21 awards. Members of the Sports Journalists Association of The Gambia would vote to determine the final winner to be announced at the Saturday 10, April award ceremony.

 The committee wishes to thank all stakeholders in sports for their support to the Sports Journalists Association of The Gambia over the year.



1.         Gambia Sportsman of the Year 2009

            Gambia U-17 team



2.         Most Outstanding Local Player 2009 (Male)

            Lamin Sarjo Samateh- Samger

            Landing Darboe – Armed Forces

            Assan Jatta – Steve Biko


3.         Most Outstanding Local Player 2009


            Fatou Gibba – Red Scorpions

            Veronic Malack- Abuko United

            Fatou Kineh Jeng- Red Scorpions


4.         Most Outstanding Local Coach 2009 (Male)

            Alhagie Sey –Armed Forces FC

            Bonu Johnson- GPA

            Abdoulie Bojang- Steve Biko


5.         Gambia Foreign Player Of Year 2009

            Dawda Bah- Helsinki Finland

            Aziz Corr Nyang – GIF Sundsvall

            Tijan Jaiteh – Brann Norway


6.         Leading Goal Scorer 2009 (male)

            Assan Jatta- Steve Biko FC


7.         Leading goal scorer 2009 (female)

            Awa Demba- Interior FC


8.         Most Outstanding Football Referee 2009 (male)

            Bakary Papa Gassama

            Dickory Jawo

            Baboucarr Camara


9.         Most Outstanding Football Referee 2009 (female)

            Isatou Bah (Lama).

            Abbi Ceesay

            Mariatou Jobarteh



10.        Most Outstanding Athlete 2009 (male)

            Suwaibou Sanneh

            Momodou Lamin Kujabi


11.        Most Outstanding   S.S.S 2009

            Gambia Senior Secondary School


12.        Most Outstanding U.B.S 2009

            Sukuta U.B. S


            LAWN TENNIS

13.        Most Outstanding Player 2009 (Male)

            Fabakary Drammeh

            Ba Suruwa Conteh

            Yankuba Drammeh


14.        Most Outstanding Player 2009 (female)

            Miss Danialla

            Amie Badjie



15.        Most Outstanding Player

            Moses Bahoum



16.        Most Outstanding Paralympics Athlete 2009

            Malang Tamba


            Journalist Award

17.        Most Outstanding Male Sports Broadcaster 2009

            Abdoulie Bah- West Coast

            Amadou Wuyeh Manga- Unique FM

            Baboucarr Njai- West Coast


18.        Most Outstanding Male Sports Writer 2009

            Lamin Drammeh- The Point

            Modou S. Joof- The Voice

            Sang Mendy - Today Newspaper

            Amadou Wuyeh Manga- Sports

            Digest/Unique FM


19.        Most Outstanding Female Sports Writer 2009

            Fatou Saho- Sports Digest

            Rohey Bittaye- Today NEWSPAPER

            Isatou Bittaye- Foroyaa News Paper


            Posthumous Award

20.        Late Fatou BK Mbye


            Special Award

Scorpions Fan Club