#Article (Archive)

Oxford United FC wins Gunjur league title

Jan 14, 2010, 2:56 PM | Article By: Lamin Darboe

Oxford United FC was last Saturday crowned champions of the 2009-2010 Gunjur Nawetan League Championship, following their 5-4 victory over Nyokoyorr FC in a post match penalty shoot-out after 1-1 draw in the 90th minute of the game, at Gunjur Football Playing Ground.

The Oxford United FC opened the score in the first half and Nyokoyorr FC leveled the score in the second half which pushed the game into a penalty shoot-out, thus ending 5-4 in favour of Oxford United FC.

As the champions, Oxford were bagged with a giant trophy, medals and a cash prize of D15, 000, while Nyokoyorr FC received a trophy and cash prize of D10,000 as the runners-up.

Mamadou Clark Bajo was awarded as the best players of the tournament and went home with a trophy and a cash prize of D250, while Yusupha Barrow who was awarded the leading goal scorer of the tournament received a trophy and cash prize of D250. Bubanding Bajo and Lamin Fise Touray were also awarded with trophies for their tremendous contributions towards the development of football in Gunjur.