#Article (Archive)

Maccassa FC crowned East Super Cup champions

Aug 26, 2013, 2:35 PM

By Cherno Omar Bobb

Maccassa FC have been crowned 2013/14 Super Cup champions of the Serrekunda East Sports Development Organisation (SESDO) after beating league champions Milan Rossoneri FC by a goal to nil in the final played at the Serrekunda East Mini Stadium on 23 August 2013.

Substitute Sulayman Sylva scored the only goal of the Banjul Breweries final for Maccassa FC in the 40th minute of the game from a classic finish few minutes after replacing injured Kebba Kujabi.

As winners, Maccassa FC went home with a giant trophy and a cash prize of D10,000 whilst runners-up Milan Rossoneri FC collected a consolation prize of D7,000.

Speaking to reporters shortly after the game, Alieu Secka, head coach of Maccassa, said he knew they were going to emerge victorious at the end of the day, adding that they have the best team in Serrekunda East.

Milan Rossoneri FC defeated Maccassa FC twice in the past, he admitted but said it was not under his coaching stead.

Now that he is the head coach, even if they play every day, Milan Rossoneri could not beat them, he remarked.

Secka said no team in Serrekunda East could beat his side because he knows the ground more than anyone else as he had played on the ground severally.

The win is down to hard work, he said, adding that some of his players did not even play in the final as they are on national duty with the senior national team.

Sang L. Mendy, head coach of Milan Rossoneri, said they were unlucky, adding that scoring was their main problem since they were able to be knocking the ball around and creating a couple of chances.

He said they were hoping for a third victory over their opponents, adding that they will now be fully prepared for the nawetan proper to defend their title. “With the help of the Almighty we can do it,” he added.

The final was graced by the new GFF Executive president Mustapha Kebbeh, Deputy Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Youth and Sports Malang Jasseh, acting-Executive Secretary of the National Sports Council Fabakary Bojang, Modou Mousa, who lost the GFF election to the current president Mustapha Kebbeh, Head Coach of the Gambia Senior National team Willy Abraham, the President of Real De Banjul FC, and other dignitaries.