#Article (Archive)

Gambia to face Senegal in CHAN 2016 Qualifiers

Apr 7, 2015, 10:21 AM

The Gambia will face neighbours Senegal in the Orange African Nations Championship in Rwanda 2016.

The Gambia is in the same group with Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Senegal and Sierra Leone with only two teams set to qualify from their West Zone A.

The draw for the qualifiers of the Orange African Nations Championship Rwanda 2016 was conducted on Sunday 5 April 2015 at the CAF headquarters in Cairo, Egypt.

The draw was done based on the zonal representation of the national associations affiliated to CAF.

Forty-two (42) teams are engaged in the qualifiers that will produce the 15 teams to join the host for the final tournament scheduled for 16 January to 7 February 2016.

CAF General Secretary Hicham El Amrani conducted the draw assisted by CAF 2nd Vice President Almamy Kabele Camara, who is also president of the organising committee of the CHAN.

Also present were members of the CAF executive committee and officials of the teams involved in the qualifying phase.

The CHAN is a tournament designed exclusively for footballers playing in their domestic leagues. The first edition was held in 2009 in Cote d’Ivoire with DR Congo emerging as champions. The second edition held in 2011 in Sudan had Tunisia as winners, whilst Libya won the third edition in 2014 in South Africa.

Full Fixtures :

Northern Zone

Teams engaged : Libya, Morocco, Tunisia (2 teams will qualify)

Libya vs Tunisia

Morocco vs Libya

Zone West A

Teams engaged : Gambia, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Senegal, Sierra Leone, (2 teams qualify)

Guinea Bissau vs Mali

Mauritania vs Sierra Leone

Guinea vs Liberia

Senegal vs Gambia

Zone West B

Teams Engaged : Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Niger, Nigeria, Togo (3 teams qualify)

Ghana vs Cote d’Ivoire

Nigeria vs Burkina Faso

Niger vs Togo

Central Zone

Teams engaged : Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, DR Congo, Gabon (3 teams qualify)

DR Congo vs Central African Republic

Cameroon vs Congo

Chad vs Gabon

Central East Zone

Teams engaged : Burundi, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, Sudan, Tanzania (3 teams including the hosts Rwanda)

Preliminary round

Tanzania vs Uganda

Djibouti vs Burundi

Ethiopia vs Kenya

Southern Zone

Teams engaged : Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Mauritius, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, Swaziland, South Africa, Zambia (3 teams qualify)

Preliminary Round

Zimbabwe vs Comoros

Lesotho vs Botswana

Namibia vs Zambia

Mozambique vs Seychelles

South Africa vs Mauritius

Swaziland vs Angola.