#Article (Archive)

Caf reflects continental successes on remaining award shortlists

Dec 13, 2016, 11:30 AM

The Confederation of African Football (Caf) named the shortlists for eight more categories ahead of its annual awards gala to be held in Abuja on 5 January 2017.

As well as the African Player of the Year and Africa-based African Player of the Year shortlists which were announced last month, a range of other awards will also be handed out.

Continental successes feature heavily in the categories including nods to Nigeria’s women’s Nations Cup winners and Uganda’s Gabon 2017 qualifiers.

Arsenal striker Asisat Oshoala, who finished as the top scorer with Nigeria at the women’s Africa Cup of Nations in Cameroon, is amongst the names on the Women’s Player of the Year shortlist.

The Super Falcons coach, Florence Omagbemi, is rewarded for Nigeria’s triumph with a nomination for Coach of the Year.

She will face competition from, amongst others, Uganda coach Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic, who guided the Cranes to their first Africa Cup of Nations finals in 39 years.

Also on that list is Pitso Mosimane who coached South Africa’s Mamelodi Sundowns to the African Champions League title. Sundowns are also on the Club of the Year shortlist.

Other names in the frame for an award are Manchester City’s Nigeria striker Kelechi Iheanacho who is up for the Most Promising Talent prize, and fellow Super Eagle Alex Iwobi who features in the Youth Player of the Year category.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony in Abuja, Nigeria on Thursday, 5 January 2017.

Women’s Player of the Year:

•           Asisat Oshoala of Nigeria and Arsenal Ladies

•           Elizabeth Addo of Ghana and Kvarnsvedensik

•           Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene of Cameroon and Rossiyanka

•           Janine Van Wyk of South Africa and JVW

•           Raissa Feudjio Tchuanyo of Cameroon and Aland United

Most promising Talent:

•           Elia Meschak of DR Congo and TP Mazembe

•           Kelechi Iheanacho of Nigeria and Manchester City

•           Naby Keita of Guinea and RB Leipzig

•           Oghenekaro Etebo of Nigeria and CD Feirense

•           Ramadan Sobhi of Egypt and Stoke City

Youth Player of the Year:

•           Alex Iwobi of Nigeria and Arsenal

•           Eric Ayiah of Ghana U-17

•           Franck Kessie of Ivory Coast and Atalanta

•           Sandra Owusu-Ansah of Ghana and Supreme Ladies

•           Sidiki Maiga of Mali U-20

Coach of the Year:

•           Florent Ibenge of DR Congo

•           Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic of Uganda

•           Pitso Mosimane of Mamelodi Sundowns

•           Nacer Sandjak of Mouloudia Bejaia

•           Florence Omagbemi of Nigeria women’s national team

Referee of the Year:

•           Papa Gasama of The Gambia

•           Grishea Gehead of Egypt

•           Malang Diedhiou of Senegal

Club of the Year:

•           Mamelodi Sundowns of South Africa

•           MO Bejaia of Algeria

•           TP Mazembe of DR Congo

•           Zamalek of Egypt

•           Zesco United of Zambia

National Team of the Year:

•           DR Congo

•           Guinea Bissau

•           Nigeria U-23

•           Senegal

•           Uganda

Women’s National Team of the Year:

•           Cameroon

•           Ghana

•           Nigeria

•           South Africa

•           Zimbabwe