#Article (Archive)

AYM revived, elects new executive

Oct 22, 2012, 12:21 PM

The Association of Youths in the Media (AYM) has been revived with the election of a new executive and adoption of a constitution.

A news release issued by the association stated that on Friday 12th October 2012 AYM elected a new executive committee to steer its affairs for the next three years.

The association, founded in 2001, also validated and adopted a constitution to regulate its affairs and activities in accordance with its founding purpose.

According to the release, Sanna Camara, a journalism trainer at the Gambia Press Union, has been elected President, while Sarjo C. Singhateh of Foroyaa as was elected the vice president.

Saikou Jammeh, editor of The Daily News was elected Secretary General and Fatou I. Touray of Gambia Info newspaper would serve as assistant secretary general.

In the same vein, Gibriel Jasseh of West Coast Radio, who was Secretary General of the outgoing executive, has been retained as the Treasurer while Abdoulie Nget serves as his assistant.

Namory Trawally, editor of Sports View was co-opted into the executive.

AYM was formed with a mission to enhance the development of youths practicing in the media to the highest level possible.

It hopes to achieve this through encouraging youth in the media in their various works; developing talents of youth media practitioners and preparing them in becoming future leaders and decision makers at national and international levels. In order to achieve gender equity, in addition, the association would provide an opportunity to exchange best practices for mutual benefits.

In his acceptance speech, Mr Camara thanked his colleagues for bestowing trust and confidence in him to serve as their president.

He said he has been equally humbled by the gesture, and shall endeavour to live up to the expectations of the membership in particular, and the Gambian media as a whole.

However admits the challenge of bringing the association to its former vibrancy as the sole youth-media association back in the early years of the last decade.

He sounded upbeat that with the support, cooperation and collaboration of the executive and membership, there would not be any hurdle they cannot overcome.

He thanked Sainabou Kujabi-Njie for her spirited leadership strides in reviving the association.

It would be recalled that Modou Thomas formerly of Radio 1 FM was the first president of the AYM, followed by Lamin SM Jaiteh of GRTS Radio.

Membership of AYM is open to practicing young journalists who have attained outstanding status in the field of journalism or media work in The Gambia.