#Article (Archive)

Algeria name squad for Gambia clash

Feb 20, 2012, 12:44 PM | Article By: Sainabou Kujabi-Njie

Algeria have announced a 28-man squad for their first leg clash in next week’s 2013 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against The Gambia in Banjul.

The Fennecs national team coach Vahid Halilhodzic included Real Sociedad’s Liassine Cadamuro-Bentaiba and Aberdeen’s Mohamed Chalali, who are expected to represent the North Africans for the first time, according to goal.com.

Four back-up players in the persons of Abdelkader Ghezzal, Kamel Ghilas, Islami Slimani, and Mohamed Amine Zemmamouche have also been named by the Bosnian coach.

Ahead of the end of the month’s opener, 22 home-based players from 12 first division league teams in The Gambia have been invited for training with Scorpions’ coach Peter Bonu Johnson.

Bonu and his local charges will be joined by foreign-based players as part of plans for the road to Gambia’s first qualification to the continent’s prestigious tournament.

Bonu Johnson is tasked with turning the country’s fortune around in what may prove to be a hard nut to crack in the Preliminary Round 2 of the 29th Edition of CAN, SOUTH AFRICA 2013.

Influential player Karim Ziani, whom coach Halilhodzic judged not as competitive as other midfielders at his disposal, as well as Olympiacos duo Djamel Abdoun and Rafik Djebbour, are not part of the squad.

A list of the Algerian side

Name Club Goalkeepers: Faouzi Chaouchi MC Alger Azzedine Doukha El Harrash Rais M’Bolhi CSKA Sofia Mohamed Amine Zemmamouche USM Alger

Defenders: Madjid Bougherra Lekhwiya Ismael Bouzid Baniyas Liassine Cadamuro-Bentaiba Real Sociedad Carl Medjani Ajaccio Mohamed Rabie Meftah USM Alger Djamel Mesbah AC Milan Mehdi Mostefa Ajaccio Antar Yahia Kaiserslautern

Midfielders: Ryad Boudebouz Sochaux Abdelmoumene Djabou ES Setif Sofiane Feghouli Valencia Adlene Guedioura Wolves Foued Kadir Valenciennes Khaled Lemmouchia USM Alger Medhi Lacen Getafe Hocine Metref JS Kabylie Hassan Yebda Granada

Attackers: Mohamed Amine Aoudia ES Setif Hameur Bouazza Millwall Mohamed Chalali Aberdeen Abdelkader Ghezzal Levante Kamel Ghilas Reims Karim Matmour Eintracht Frankfurt Islam Slimani CR Belouizdad.

Read Other Articles In Article (Archive)