#Article (Archive)

UTG introduces masters programme in French

Nov 2, 2010, 12:43 PM | Article By: Alieu O. Jabang

In its quest for academic excellence, the University of the Gambia (UTG) in collaboration with the Limoge University of France has started a Master’s degree programme in Arts.

Speaking at an orientation ceremony held at the UTG Faculty of Law building yesterday, the acting dean of Arts, Dr. Mendy, said the programme started since September last year, and will be a two-year programme and be conducted according to international standards. He added that, at the end of the programme, scholarships would be provided for those who want to proceed for their doctorate degree overseas.

Professor Zacques Migoce, head of mission from the University of the Limoge in France, described as "memorable" their relationship with the University of The Gambia over the years. He called on the students to work extensively hard to ensure the programme succeeds.

UTG vice chancellor Professor Muhammed Kah said the collaboration between the UTG and Limoge is one of the most enriching and substantial the university ever had.

"Since the inception of our collaboration, we were able to produce five PhD holders and each got their Master’s through the Limoge University," he said, adding that two out of the five are women.

According to Professor Kah, students of the University of The Gambia will no more go to Limoge University for their Master's programme, but can do it right here at home.

"Today whoever wants to do masters in French is welcomed here at the University of The Gambia. We believe that the university can deliver as any other university in the world, and our students can do it as other students around the world," he said, assuring all that the UTG will in future have its own PhD programmes.

Professor Kah commended Total Gambia for sponsoring a student in this year's Master's programme. He called on others to emulate Total Gambia, and assist in the attainment of academic excellence in The Gambia.

Jenum Manneh, the University Secretary, delivered the vote of thanks.