#Article (Archive)

Three Cabinet Ministers sacked

Jan 28, 2016, 10:28 AM

President Yahya Jammeh has relieved the following three Cabinet ministers of their ministerial positions with effect from 26 January 2016.

They are Lamin Nyabally, Minister of Fisheries, Dr Edward Saja Sanneh, Minister of Energy, and Mrs Yam Bamba Njie-Keita, Minister of Presidential Affairs.

The news release from State House revealed that President Jammeh in the same vein has appointed Mrs Yam BambaNjie-Keita to serve as Deputy Secretary General with immediate effect.

The general public, the dispatch added, is further informed that the Ministries of Energy and Petroleum have been merged as the Ministry of Petroleum and Energy.

The Department of Forestry, the State House press release continued, is now placed under the purview of the Office of the President, whilst the Ministry of Fisheries is now being integrated into the Ministry of Environment, Water Resources Parks and Wildlife and Climate Change.

The ministry should now be called the Ministry of Environment Water Resources, Parks and Wildlife, Fisheries and Climate Change, the release stated.