#Article (Archive)

Swimming Federation holds congress

Feb 22, 2011, 1:50 PM | Article By: Cherno Omar Bobb

Swimming Federation on 19 February 2011 held its congress at the Independence Stadium in Bakau.

Speaking on the occasion, Yahya Al-Matarr Jobe, President of Gambia Swimming Federation, described the day as important in the history of sports in The Gambia and the formation of the Gambia Swimming Federation.

This was a brainchild of two young sport enthusiasts, Yorro Njie and Cherno Krubally, who felt that those Gambian habitual swimmers could be organised into a more structured manner, by forming clubs that would be functional and competing among themselves.

"This was never easy but since there is nothing new about swimming, we have made it to happen," Mr Jobe said. "Since 2008, we have been on constant consultation with people involved in aquatic activities either as a sport or for recreation. Thank God that those efforts have never gone in vain. That is why we are here today to elect individuals that will run the day-to-day activities of the Federation."

Mamudu Max Jallow, Executive Secretary of the National Sports Council, advised associations and federations to abide by the principle of the National Sports Council for the smooth running of sport in the country.

He promised to give full support in the development and promotion of sport in The Gambia and urged the Gambian Swimming Federation not to limit their activities in the Kombos, but to extend its efforts as far as CRR.

In doing this, according to Max, other people could benefit from sports through its decentralization.

Jallow said the responsibility of member clubs is to ensure their clubs are well organised with executive structures. With this, he added, they could set standards for the promotion of swimming, stressing that regular competition should be organised if "we want to rub shoulders with giant swimming nations like the UK".

He also said that swimming is the second largest watched sport in the UK.

The Programme was chaired by Khaddija Njie, 1st vice-president of the federation, and the vote of thanks was delivered by the secretary-general of the federation, Yorro Njie.

The Congress was attended by 12 delegates from various clubs.