#Article (Archive)

Super Nawettan winnners, runners up yet to receive prize money

Nov 16, 2016, 11:32 AM | Article By: Lamin Darboe

The 2016 FiBank-sponsored Super Nawettan champions Gunjur and runners-up Banjul are yet to receive their prize money from the Super Nawettan Organising Committee.

Gunjur came from one nil down to beat Banjul 2-1 in a well-contested final, played at the Independence Stadium in Bakau on Friday 28 October 2016, to clinch their first-ever super nawettan title.

Goals came from creative midfielder Salifu Bojang alias Bapa and striker Malang Jassey alias Uncle in the 36th and 77th minute of the game, respectively.

This was after right-back Essa Jallow gave Banjul the lead in the 18th minute of the game from penalty spot, after defender Yusupha Touray alias Eso brought down striker Assan Gaye inside the penalty area.

Since then, the champions Gunjur and runners-up are yet to receive their prize money for the annual zonal football fiesta after reaching the final.

The Super Nawettan Organising Committee and FiBank initially set to present D75,000 to champions Gunjur on Saturday, but the presentation was postponed due to a political rally in Gunjur.

It would be recalled that Gunjur also won the best player and leading goal scorer awards.

 Salifu Bojang alias Bapa was awarded the best player accolade, after his astonishing performance for the Kombo South boys in the 2016 FiBank-sponsored Super Nawettan, and Mbemba Fatty alias Andrea Iniesta was awarded the leading goal scorer title, after notching five goals in the Super Nawettan.

Banjul goal post custodian Ahmed Savage and defender Abdoulie Samba alias Abedi were awarded the best goalkeeper and best defender titles, after their spectacular performance for the city boys in the tournament.