#Article (Archive)

SJAG unveils nominees for National Sports Award

Apr 19, 2016, 11:39 AM | Article By: Lamin Darboe

The Sports Journalists Association of the Gambia (SJAG) yesterday unveiled nominees for the National Sports Award at the Conference Hall of the Independence Stadium in Bakau.

In his welcoming remarks, Alieu Ceesay, Secretary General of SJAG, said the ceremony was organised to unveil the nominees for the national sports award, adding that this year’s award ceremony edition is the seventh edition of the annual award.

Ceesay stated that the award ceremony is meant to reward people who have done extremely well in sport for the last twelve months.

For his part, the president of SJAG, Musa Sise, said the award is meant to reward people who have done well and those who have also contributed immensely towards the development of sport in the country.

Sise applauded the MGI, PURA, GFF, GTBoard, GTBank and GCCI for sponsoring the awards.

The nominees for personality of the year powered by the GTBank is Babou Jack.

The nominees for the best overseas athletes sponsored by GTBoard are Pa Modou Jagne, FC Sion, Bubacarr Steve Trawally-Yanbian and Faye Jagne Judo - who won Gold in All Africa Games.

The nominees for the best local-based athletes bankrolled by GFF are Yaya Ndong - Gamtel FC leading goal scorer; Abdoulie Jallow - Real De Banjul, and Adama Jammeh - Athletics.

The best referee of the year nominees sponsored by PURA are Sheriff Njie, Mawdo Jallow and Isatou Touray.

The best coach of the year award nominees are Tapha Manneh - Gamtel FC, Jane Joof - Samger FC, and Lie Ngum - Serrekunda West basketball team.

The sports team of the year award nominees are Gamtel FC, Samger FC and Serrekunda West basketball team.

The best institutions in support of sport sponsored by GCCI are Africell special award, Bayba Financial Services, MGI and First-Eco.


The outstanding female athletes of the year award are Gina Bass, Adama Tamba - Red Scorpions FC, Mbasey Darboe -Interior FC, and Isatou Basse Jallow - Interior FC.

The association is preparing to award some individuals for their contribution towards the development of sport in The Gambia. These are the late Salif Ndure, the late Assan Kujabi, the late Yusupha Samba, Kebba Diayas, Chico Njie, Dodou Njie - retired referee, Musa Babanding Ceesay, Ba Jabbie - Administrator, Binneh Marong, Sense Muhammed Kabba - Karate, Papa Bakary Gassama - special award, lawyer Ousman Sillah - former national team player, Sheikh Omar Sallah - former national team player, Mary Gaye - pioneer, Abdou Jallow - former national team player, and Abdoulie Star Jallow, former national team captain.

The association is also preparing to give special awards to the following people: they are Eliman Janneh, Kebba Balajo - coach, the late Alieu Sallah and Ali Qadra and Lamin Samateh.