#Article (Archive)

Sixteen teams line up for Old Jeshwang Nawetaan

Aug 23, 2010, 3:09 PM | Article By: Alfred E. Sowe

Sixteen teams lined up for the annual Old Jeshwang Sport Committee Nawetaan. 

The teams to participate in this championship are Blue Boys FC, I.M.S FC, Taiko FC, Wailers FC, Natanga FC, Manding FC, Dragons FC, Old Hands FC, Mansour FC, T-Junction/NPE FC, Galaxy FC, Wu-tang FC, Lions FC, Conge Bi FC and Kampeh Bi/City Basar FC.

Sponsored by Sherrif Sarr, D10, 000 is staged for the winners and D7, 000 for the runner-up. The Nawetaan commenced on Friday 20th August 2010, with I.M.S FC thrashing Blue Boys FC by 2-0. On Saturday 21st August 2010, Taiko FC defeated Wailers FC by a goal to nil in the Old Jeshwang Nawetaan, held at the Old Jeshwang Primary School field.

James Jatta's late goal in the 88th minute of the game was enough to secure the maximum points for his side and also registered their first victory in the championship. 

Meanwhile, Dunjon Bi FC on Saturday 21st August 2010 edged pass over Old Hands FC by a goal to nil in the Kanifing Estate Nawetaan, at the Charles Fowlis Senior Secondary School field in the 5pm encounter.

Dunjon Bi FC opened the game with a wonderful display of skills and created numerous goal opportunities, but had failed to capitalise them and so the first period ended goalless.

Dunjon Bi FC Ousman Faal scored to give his side the lead a few minutes later before the final whistle was blown by the referee.