#Article (Archive)

President Jammeh sets up new APRC committee in Bakau

Jan 11, 2016, 11:47 AM

(Friday, 8 January 2016 Issue)

Following the dissolution of all APRC party structures within the Bakau Constituency in the Kanifing Municipality on 4 December 2015, the party chairman, President Yahya Jammeh, has appointed the following to serve in the new Constituency Executive Committee of the APRC for Bakau:

1. Chairman - Alhaji Luntang Jaiteh - Bakau Central

2. Vice Chairman - Alhaji Modou Jagne - New Town

3. Secretary - Alhaji Abdoulie Jallow - Wasulung Kunda

4. Asst. Secretary - Peter Correa - Faro Kono

5. Treasurer - Alhaji Baboucarr Jenkins - Bakau Central

6. Mobiliser - Dullo Jallow - Sanchaba

7. Youth Mobiliser - Ousman ‘Rambo’ Jatta - Bakau Central

8. Women’s MobiliserKumba BarrySanchaba

9. National Assembly Member - Kalifa Jammeh - Bakau Central

1. Dodou Bojang - Alkalo - Bakau

2. Musa Sidibeh Alkalo, Wasulung Kunda (Comprising Cape Point)

3. Alhagie Bahoum - Councillor, Bakau New Town and Fajara Ward

4. Basiru Gassama - Member - New Town

5. Kaddy-ba Sidibeh - Member - Katchikally

6. Aja Fatou Jatta - Head Yai Compin - Bakau Central

In addition, the following appointments have been made:


1. Kaddy Dibba - New Town

3. Ndey Fatou Khan - New Town

4. Adama Bah - Bakau central

5. Foday Labang Jarju - Sanchaba

6. Yamundow Jallow - Sanchaba

7. Binta Jatta - Sanchaba

8. Ebou Sanneh - Fajara

9. Alagie Sanyang - Katchikally

10. Binta ‘Sinkala’ Jatta - Wasulung Kunda

11. Alhagie Muniry Tangikora - Cape Point

12. Amina Papiya Jarjue - Cape Point

13. Adama Ceesay - Mamakoto

14. Yunusa Jarjue - Mile 7

15. Arokey Sonko - Fajara Barracks

16. Alieu Kujabi - Fajara Barracks

17. Rosemarie Gomez - Fajara Barracks

Council of Elders

1. Alhaji FRI Jammeh - Chairman New Town

2. Alhaji Modou Ndure - Member - New Town

3. Pa Sainey Dibba - Member - New Town

4. Ousman Bojang - Member - New Town/Bakau Central

5. Famara S Bojang - Secretary - Bakau Central

6. Sam Dubois - Member - Bakau Central

7. Pa Subuna Bojang - Member - Katchikally

8. Alhaji Sosseh Colley - Member - Katchikally

9. Janko Dampha - Member - Katchikally

10. Ousman Conteh - Member - Wasulung Kunda

• Lady Councillor: Aja Ida Bojang of Bakau New Town.

Reacting to the news, the APRC general secretary, Hon. Bala Garba Jahumpa, Minister of Transport, Works and Infrastructure, said: “The people of Bakau are one; the APRC is one and now they have an opportunity to close ranks and demonstrate to the party leader and the whole of The Gambia that they do not come second to any one in their loyalty to the country, the party and our leader.

“We should all let bygone be bygone and work towards the development of our country.The APRC belongs to all of us whether we hold a position in the party or not. ”

Sheriff Bojang, a party liaison officer for the municipality and Minister of Information and Communications Infrastructure, said: “My senior liaison officer, Foreign Minister, Mrs Neneh MacDouall-Gaye and I thank the party chairman for taking the bold decision in resolving the long festering intra-party contention in the Constituency of Bakau.

“We believe this new committee is inclusive, broad-based and truly representative of the APRC within the Constituency of Bakau.We therefore believe the committee will bring about the desired reconciliation among the party apparatchiks and re-energise the base in the constituency as we prepare the ground for forthcoming electoral cycle.”