#Article (Archive)

Nfamara Jawneh bounces back as YJAG president

Sep 23, 2013, 10:44 AM | Article By: Abdoulie Nyockeh

Nfamara Jawneh, founder president of the Young Journalists Association of The Gambia (YJAG), was on Saturday 21 September re-elected as new president of YJAG.

Mr Jawneh previously served as YJAG president between September 2007 and September 2009.

The YJAG founder president was re-elected unopposed during the 3rd biennial congress and 6th anniversary celebration of the association held at GPU Secretariat in Fajara.

In his acceptance speech, President-elect Jawneh promised to involve all members of the association to work towards greater success for the group.

Mr Jawneh thanked the members for the trust and confidence bestowed on him and others to serve the association for another three-year term.

The elected members of the new executive include Nyima Jadama, 1st vice president; Amie Faye, 2nd vice president; Sulayman Ceesay, secretary general; Yaya B. Baldeh, public relations officer; Hally Omar Mendy, assistant secretary; Musa Fatty, treasurer, and Momodou S. Jallow, auditor.

Baboucarr Ceesay, GPU 1st vice president and Dawda Bayo, a freelance photojournalist, oversaw the conduction of the elections.

This year’s YJAG anniversary theme was: “Towards greater press freedom and job security for young journalists in The Gambia”.

Earlier in the day, YJAG outgoing secretary general Lamin Jahateh and treasurer Sulayman Ceesay presented the activity and financial reports of the association covering between October 2011 and September 2013.

After a thorough scrutiny by members both reports were unanimously adopted at the congress.

Speaking on the occasion, Modou S. Joof, outgoing president of YJAG, said the weekend gathering was a constitutional requirement for the association.

He used the opportunity to appeal to the government to consider reopening The Standard Newspaper, Daily News and Taranga FM.

According to him, the closure of the said media houses has made many young journalists in the country jobless.

Board chairperson Njundu Drammeh assured YJAG of their continued commitment to helping the association achieve more successes.

The 3rd annual YJAG Founder President’s Award prize was given to Momodou S. Jallow and the presentation was done by Ms Aminata Sanneh.

In presenting the award Ms Sanneh stressed that the purpose of the annual prize was to appreciate the most outstanding member, who plays an exceptional role, in advancing the cause of YJAG.