#Article (Archive)

New Town United FC clinch Brikama League title

Jan 20, 2014, 8:14 PM | Article By: Lamin Darboe

New Town United FC have been crowned champions of the 2013-2014 Brikama league title after beating Amasa FC 1-0 in a keenly-contested final game played at the Brikama Box Bar Mini Stadium on Friday.

It was no easy road to the league final title as both sides launched serious assaults at each other’s goal mouth.

New Town United opened the tally through Brikama United midfielder Sulayman Saho in the 12th minute of the game from an astonishing long-range shot to give his side the lead.

Amasa FC responded back for an equalizer and could have leveled the scores through Brikama United striker Sainey Bojang in the 15th minute of the game after slashing New Town United defence line but the goal was denied by defender Alagie Jawara.

Armed Forces striker Kabba Jobe came very close to extending the lead for New Town United in the 65th minute of the game but his brilliant strike was denied by Amasa FC’s net minder Bubacarr Sillah.

As champions, New Town United went home with a giant trophy and cash of D40,000, whilst Amasa FC received D30,000 as runners-up.

New Town received a trophy as the most disciplined team; Sulayman Saho of New Town United received a trophy as the man of the match, whilst Sainey Bojang received D500 for scoring the first goal in the first final game, a cash prize donated by the Governor of West Coast Region Alhagie Lamin Sanneh