#Article (Archive)

MTV’s O Music Awards – Setting a Trend

May 6, 2011, 4:10 PM

The first ever O Music Awards turned out to be a party of note in Los Angeles on 28 April, as MTV celebrated the growing trend toward online music. While some of the artists performed and accepted their awards via technology from all over the world, the fans where crowded around the stage on

Freemont Street
where rock duo Matt & Kim kept the party going.

Following a performance by Matt & Kim, Cee Lo Green presented the very first O cube award to Lady Gaga for Most Innovative Artist. The controversial artist also won the award for Must Followed Artist on Twitter. As the evening progressed, performances by Foster the People including their hit Helena Beat, and Lupe Fiasco blended seamlessly with further awards. One of the highlights of the entertainment, online from a stop in Austin, Texas, was a performance of Woody Guthrie’s version of This Train is Bound for Glory by the Railroad Revival Tour – consisting of Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros, Mumford & Sons, and Old Crow Medicine Show. Adding another dimension to the experience was a shot in the background of the rail car the crew has been traveling on for their tour.

Accepting the award for NSFW Music Video from a bathroom, 30 Seconds to Mars frontman Jared Leto explained that they were on tour and it was the most appropriate place they could find. Up against contestants Arcade Fire, Yuck and OK Go, the Most Innovative Music Video Award went to Andy Grammer. Other awards included Most Viral Dance, which went to Willow Smith for Whip My Hair; Kanye West won Best Tweet for his observations on being responsible for a water bottle; and Best Fan Cover Award went to Alex Goot for his version of the Britney Spears hit Hold It Against Me. Internet pop-culture phenomenon, Rebecca Black was the host of the Fan Army Party at the Golden Nugget Hotel, and as the last award of the night, Favorite Fan Army went to Tokio Hotel’s Aliens. Judging by the positive response, it appears that MTV’s O Music Awards is set to become a highlight on the annual awards calendar.