#Article (Archive)

Jolly Riders Donate Bikes to Five Outstanding Schools

Feb 19, 2009, 4:59 AM | Article By: Alieu Jabang & Njie Baldeh

In a bid of fulfil  their promise of providing access to quality education in The Gambia, the Jolly Riders Foundation has donated bicycles to five outstanding schools for better management.

Speaking during the handing over ceremony, the secretary general of the board of trustees, cum Tango programme director, Mr Kebba K Barrow alias K B, said the Jolly Riders are donating bikes to the five outstanding schools to fulfil their promise in providing access to quality education in The Gambia. He said since March 2006, when they formed in The Gambia, they have dished out 3,008 bikes to 34 schools across the country.

Mr. Barrow thanked the Gambian government for their support in attaining this objective. He called on schools to better manage the bicycles for them to last a long time for future generations. K Barrow was optimistic that the bicycles will boost the performance of many students in various schools and called on parents to support the bicycle management.

For his part, David Sweffenham, director of Jolly Riders Foundation UK, explained that many students in The Gambia, especially in the rural areas, need support in gaining access to quality education. He said his office, through their Gambian counterparts especially Mr Barrow and Babucarr Boyo Touray, continue to support Gambian students in providing access to quality education as it controls every aspect of development.

Deputising for the regional director, the principal of Gunjur Upper Basic School, Mr Modou Sey, said the effort of Jolly Riders Foundation in The Gambia education cannot be over emphasised. "This helps us mentally and physically to ride these bikes and reach our schools without delay," he said. He promised that the bicycles will be taken care of.

Other speakers included Mr. Barry Wright, Jolly Riders UK country representative in The Gambia, Mr Madi Jatta, former for education senior officer at the Independent Electoral Commission and Mr Omar Sanneh of Tujereng Upper Basic who gave the vote of thanks.