#Article (Archive)

Golf Association awards winners

Dec 14, 2010, 3:13 PM | Article By: Cherno Omar Bobb

The Gambia Golf Association (GGA) on Sunday held an Award and Gala Diner ceremony for the various winners of its Gambia Open and Pro Am Golf Tournament played under the chief patronage of President Yahya Jammeh from 8 to 13 December 2010 at the Fajara Golf Course.

Gambian Fakebba Drammeh, who took first position in the professional category, received a giant trophy and cash prize of D300,000 while Jerry Dumbuya and Robet Williams - both Sierra Leoneans - who were tight up on second, received a trophy and a consolation prize of D35,000 each.

In the Men category 1 competition - amateur, Paul Maroun took first position, Dave Castello came out second and Robbet Crosset took third position.

In the men category 2 in the same competition, S. Cockburn won the first position, followed by Horst Vass and Mark Goddard.

In the seniors category, Alan Machary took first position and seconded by Pierre Sarr.

In the Ladies category 1, Senegalese duo Oumy Dieye and Katy Ndiaye grabbed the first and second places respectively.

Fatoumatta Jahumpa Ceesay won the Ladies 2nd category and Haddy Cham came out second.

The Long Drive of the men category1 went to Senegal's L. Diouf while in the category 2 H, Macauley took second.


Longest Drive
prize of the Ladies category also went to another Senegalese national K. Ndiaye.

The Nearest to the pin prize was won by Dave Costello while the Long putt prize was secured by R. Mirtle.

In the teams category of the Pro Am, the first position was secured by Sierra Leone's M. Kargbo and that of the amateurs went to R. Mirtle.

The second position was secured by Jerrey Dumbuya, a Sierra Leonean in the professionals, while Peter Millar took second in the amateurs.

M. War, a Senegalese national, took third in the professionals and Dave Costello took third in the amateurs.

The special prize went to Anthony Tabbal and Alioune Ndiaye and they were both awarded with golf balls, while all the other winners of the amateurs category received trophies.