#Article (Archive)

GNOC Awards Outstanding Sports Personalities in 14th Sports Banquet

May 21, 2012, 3:44 PM | Article By: Adama K. Jallow

The Gambia National Olympic Committee (GNOC) has awarded outstanding sports personalities in its 14th annual sports banquet and awards on Friday at the Djeliba Beach Hotel in Kololi.

The occasion brought together dignitaries from various walks of life.

In his welcoming remarks, the president of the GNOC, Alhagie Momodou M. Dibba, welcomed the gathering to honoring and paying tributes to the national sports men and women for their outstanding performances.

Mr Dibba congratulated all workers and participants from both the private and public sectors for making the weekend proceeding and the May Day Mass Sport outstandingly special. 

He welcomed Samsung the main sponsor of the year’s May Day Mass Sport and awards ceremony, likewise Banjul Breweries, the Gambia Police Force, the Gambia Armed Forces and others.

He also thanked President Jammeh, who has taken a keen and personal interest in the promotion and development of sports in The Gambia.

Dibba said: “On behalf of the GNOC bureau and management I also take this opportunity to express my thanks and gratitude to all the companies and government agencies/ institutions for their hard work in consistently participating in the weekly consultative sessions at the GNOC offices, which again resulted in the successful organization of the sporting activities and fund games this year. We hope to see the participating of many government agencies and companies next year,”

The Sponsorship award was won by Joseph Furmose Gomez,  the Sport Infrastructure award was given to Brikama Youth and Sport Association, the Association awards went to Musa Cassa Taal,  Momodou Njie  (Belo), Sulayman Norman, Alhagie Musa Coker and Ms Mbaheh Camara.

The Hall of Fame awards went to personalities including Musa Njie, Haddy Sillah Njie and Alhagie Ndow Njie. The Merit list included Sam John Forster, Tayib Sowe, Donald Mam Biran Sock, Musa Babanding Ceesay, Dado Jah, Elieunson Sylva, Yassin Joof Jaw and Alagie Faal.

The Posthumous awards went to Njok Malick Njie, Momodou Jobe-Sasu, Landing Janneh, and the late Yusupha Sam Sibi, while the Honorary award went to N1 Sport Shop (Akram), and Samsung won the President’s award.