#Article (Archive)

Four teams qualify for Lamin Naweetan

Aug 24, 2011, 1:54 PM | Article By: Lamin Drammeh

After a successful Nawettan qualifying round, four teams out of six (6) have successfully booked their place in the forthcoming Lamin Nawettan 2011.

The qualified teams are: Kairaba Forex, Lion Paw, Lamin Manga FC and Vex yard; and all three (3) of the qualified teams except Lamin Manga FC are Lamin-based clubs. Lamin Manga is from Wellingara.

Saturday 13th August 2011 marked the balloting for the Lamin Nawettan proper, and the last 16 teams in the 2010 Nawettan were all present, except Gam Petroleum of Mandinari who were not able to make it due to financial difficulties. Vex yard FC as the best losers from the qualifiers were called upon to replace them. The groupings are as follows:

GROUP A                       GROUP B                     GROUP C                     GROUP D

1-         Sanchaba United           1-Sami Estate               1- Falcons FC               1- Network FC

2-         Golden Gate                 2-Wayeto United            2-Sateba United            2-Sutton United

3-         Lion Paw                       3- KGH Sports              3- Daranka United          3-Workshop FC

4-         Wayeto West                4-Jatta’s FC                  4- Vex Yard                   4- Raff Jama

5-         Banjul-Nding                 5-Lamin Manga  FC        5-Temasu United           5- Kairaba Forex

Group B is described as the group of death since all four (4) except one i.e Lamin Manga FC are regular finalists in the Lamin Nawettan.

Sami Estate and Sanchaba United were the finalists of the 2010 edition.

KGH Sports who had won 2 knock-out trophies and 2 super cups in the past three years played with Jatta’s FC in last year’s knock-out championship, in which Jatta’s won 1-0.

Jatta’s FC remains the oldest and the most successful club in the Lamin Nawettan, winning six out of a possible ten league cups in the Lamin Nawettan.

Meanwhile, the local sports committee in an attempt to revitalize and retransform Lamin football will reduce the number of teams to 16 effective 2012, when two teams from each group will be relegated via qualifiers in 2012.

 The last team will go for the usual qualifiers, whereby the fourth place winner will only have to wait for the play-off, according to Abdoulie N. Baacha, the secretary general of the committee who is also deputizing as the caretaker chairman.

In a similar development, the Lamin youth & sports committee is pleased to announce that the Lamin Super Cup Final will take place on Saturday 3rd September 2011.

The final will be played between last year’s league winners, Sanchaba United and knock-out Cup Winners, Jatta’s FC.

The Nawettan proper will begin on Sunday 4th September, 2011.