#Article (Archive)

Five key players confirmed absent as Gambia named squad for stallions tie

Oct 6, 2011, 2:09 PM | Article By: Lamin Drammeh

Paul Put, head coach of the senior national team of The Gambia, has named a 21-man squad for the weekend’s AFCON qualifier match at home to Stallions of Burkina Faso due to take place this Saturday at the Independence Stadium in Bakau, Pointsport can confirm.

But the Belgian tactician is understood to be missing the services of at least five key members of his side whose qualification hope is dead following their shocking 1-nil defeat at the hands of Namibia in Windhoek last month.

Among the casualties are St Jones Earthquake’s pacy midfielder Sanna Nyassi and twin brother Sainey who also plies his trade with the Major League soccer side New England Revolution, while Dynamo Zagreb’s rocky centre back Lamin Samateh (Bassmen) is also unavailable owing to injury.

The biggest blow for The Gambia ahead of the contest is the news that team captain Mustapha (Toubabo) Jarju of MLS strugglers Whitecaps is another surprise absentee as well as Kebba Ceesay, whose hope of rejoining the squad from suspension is all but over following confirmation that the DJulgarden defender has sustained injury.

Paul Put is now left with no other option but to name the replacement of the five absentees and as a result few home-based players have been selected to fill the gap left by the withdrawal of the injured foreign-based stars.

Among the selected home-based players are Babucarr Savage, Ali Sowe, Abdou Njie, Dodou Susso and goalkeepers Musa Camara and Alagie Jobe completing the six home-based players list for the weekend battle.

The following make up the full squad that is expected to face the Stallions of Burkina Faso: Pa Dembo Touray, Musa Camara, Alagie Jobe, Ebrima Sohna, Abdou Njie, Pa Modou Jagne, Dodou Susso, Abdou Jammeh, Omar Jawo, Abdourahman Dampha, Demba Savage, Saihou Gassama, Aziz Corr Nyang, Momodou Ceesay, Ebrima Sawaneh, Abdoulie Ken Mansally, Momodou Futty Danso, Ali Sowe, Babucarr Savage, Ousman Jallow and Tijan Jaiteh.