#Article (Archive)

FA Cup Draw Slated for June 11

Jun 4, 2009, 8:11 AM | Article By: Lamin Darboe & Alfred Sowe

The Gamtel sponsored GFA FA Cup draw is scheduled to take place on 13 June 2009, at the Independence Stadium in Bakau, at 4:30pm.

The traditional competition fondly called the FA Cup championship is competed by teams from the first division, second division and the regional teams.

FA Cup is the second major cup to be organised by the country's umbrella body GFA, after the league championship. And currently teams in the NRR, LRR, CRR, and URR are taking part in the preliminary rounds of the championship.

The winners from the preliminary rounds in the provinces from the four regions will join GFA first and second division teams in the next round of the championship.

It could be recalled that Wallidan were champions of last year's FA Cup, whilst Samger were the runners-up, after losing to Wallidan from a penalty shoot-out following a 2-2 draw in the 90th minute of the play.