#Article (Archive)

Commit FC Unbeaten In Gunjur Nawettan

Aug 26, 2009, 7:07 AM

Commit FC have maintained their unbeaten record in the 2009-10 Gunjur Nawettan League Championship, following their convincing 2-0 victory over Nyokoyor FC last Saturday 22nd August 2009, at Gunjur Playing Grounds.

Commit FC opened the tally in the 3rd minute of play through full-back Musa Bojang, alias Bushman from Bakary Daffeh's, alias Kanu cross to make it 1-0 for Commit FC.

Nyokoyor fought back for an equaliser and made a series of goal scoring attempts in front of Commit FC's goal mouth, but had failed to capitalise on their chances.

Commit FC who were totally defending relied on counter attacks extending their lead in the 20th minute of play, through their centre-back Buba Gibba, alias Mic from a spectacular free-kick to make it 2-0, dashing Nyokoyor FC hope's of coming back to their feet, thus the first half ended 2-0 in favour of unbeaten Commit FC.

In the second half, Nyokoyor FC who won their first two games in the 2009-10 Gunjur Nawettan League Championship rectified their errors, and came all out for an equaliser to put pressure on Commit FC's defence line. But they squandered all their chances away until the 90th minute of play ended 2-0 in favour of Commit FC.

On Thursday 20th August 2009, struggling Happy Gunjur FC defeated Mighty NAS FC 1-0, with Happy Gunjur FC's lone goal scored by Buba Barrow in the 2nd minute of play from a brilliant finish, while on Friday 21st August Late Ismaila FC defeated Comium FC 1-0.

Commit FC now collected maximum 9 points from three games, while Nyokoyor FC have 7 points from three games. NAS FC collected 1 point from two with two games in hand, while Happy Gunjur FC collected 3 points from three games. Late Ismaila FC collected 5 points from three games, while Comium FC collected three points from three games.