#Article (Archive)

Basse Area Councillors sworn in

Apr 29, 2013, 10:48 AM | Article By: Nfamara Jawneh

Seventeen councillors where on Saturday sworn in at the Basse Area Council chambers to serve the said area council in the Upper River Region.

Fourteen out of the seventeen were elected while the other three were nominated.

The councillors also re-elected former chairman and Basse Ward Councillor Omar Sompo Ceesay as chairman and elected Mr Jahara Juwara of Diabugu Ward as vice chairman.

The councillors took an oath of office to be faithful and bear true allegiance to the nation without fear or favour, affection or ill-will, in the due execution of their duties.

The ceremony was graced by the minister of Local Government and Lands, Momodou Aki Bayo, Minister of Fisheries, Mass Axi Gaye, and Justice Minister, Lamin Jobarteh.

Minister Bayo urged the councillors to live up to the expectations of their people while assuring them of his office’s continued support.

URR Governor Omar Khan, who was also in attendance, made remarks similar to those of previous speakers.

Vice chairman Jahara Juwara, reaffirmed their commitment to bringing development to their people.

Meanwhile, the councillors are coming at a time the people of the region are faced with numerous infrastructure development challenges and hoping that the new council maydo something about these problems.

Hopes and expectations are high in the new council.