#Article (Archive)

Basiru Bajo is new Brikama Youth and Sports Committee prexy

Aug 9, 2011, 1:46 PM | Article By: Cherno Omar Bobb

Basiru Bajo was on Sunday elected unopposed as the new president of Brikama Youth and Sports Committee during an Extra-ordinary Congress of the committee.

The congress, which was also part of the committee’s Annual General Meeting held at the Brikama Mini-stadium, was chaired by Lamin Camara, acting chairman of the Gambia Football Referees Committee, who also serves chairman of West Coast Region Sports Committee.

Camara congratulated Brikama Youth and Sports Committee (BYSC) and the entire people of West Coast Region for the successes registered by Brikama United in this year’s GFA first division league.

He thanked the BYSC for their hard work and showered praises on the team’s representatives for answering to their call.

Jammeh E. K. Bojang, Secretary General of The GFA, who also spoke at the occasion, thanked everyone that has contributed in one way or the other to the success of Brikama United this season.

He said: “We should know that there are people who have contributed to the success of Brikama United and are not here (at the Extra-Ordinary Congress and Annual General Meeting) today.”

“Foday Trawally has shown to us that Brikama United were the deserved winner of the league because he scored two goals for The Gambia in his first call up to the senior national team in a friendly game against Liberia recently.

Jammeh used the platform to thank the coaching staff, the players and fans of Brikama United for winning the just endced GFA first division league.

He also challenged the team to retain the title next year or to finish the next season’s league among the top three teams.

Basiru Bajo, newly elected President of BYSC, in an interview with reporters shortly after his election into office, said it is not easy to partake in any development initiative but promised to do his utmost best together with his colleagues to promote sports in West Coast Region.

He added that they (the committee) would work closely to come up with developmental plans and follow those plans to the letter.

“We want to work towards sports excellence and I am sure we will achieve that if we have the community’s involvement, support and cooperation,” Bajo said.

“Commitment is the most important thing and you cannot be elected just for the sake of filling positions. We have to act to make sure the people we are serving are satisfied.

“We will make sure all those serving the executive have some form of training to be able to execute their duties effectively.”

Ansu B. O. Nyass, outgoing president of the association, and Ndey Sowe, co-opted member of the new association both spoke at the occasion.

The newly elected executive committee members are: President-Basiru Bajo, 1st Vice President; Ansu B. O. Nyass, 2nd Vice President; Sainey Gibba, Secretary General; Alhagie S. Darbo, Assistant Secretary General; Assan Njie, Treasurer; Samsideen Bojang, Auditor; Sarjo Sora, Audit Clark;  Mustapha Joof, Social Secretary; Buba Mbye Bojang, Assistant Social Secretary; Ebrima Drammeh, Basketball Officer; Mustapha Manjang, Volleyball Officer; Pa Baboucarr Barrow, Athletics Officer; Lamin Fatty, Youth Officer; Abdoulie Touray, Female Sports Officer; Mam Lisa Camara, Officer for other sports; Lamin J. Sanneh, while Aji Kanteh, Ndey Sowe, Claudiana Sambou, Ebrima Daffeh, Sankung Sillah, Buba Bojang, Omar Mara Sanneh, Amadou Jallow and Maline Bojang are to serve as co-opted members.