#Article (Archive)

Assembly adopts agreement on finance and technical cooperation

Sep 15, 2011, 1:27 PM | Article By: Lamin B. Darboe

Deputies at the National Assembly Tuesday considered and adopted the framework agreement and agreement on technical and financial cooperation between the Republic of Cape Verde, Gambia, Guinea Bissau, Conakry, Mauritania and Senegal on the one hand and the Kingdom of Norway on the other hand on intended Norwegian support toward the establishment of the outer limits of the continental shelf beyond 200 nautical miles.

The motion, moved before deputies by Vice President Isatou Njie-Saidy, among others, seeks to strengthen the existing relationship with neighboring sister coastal states and enhance future peaceful delimitation of the exclusive economic zone with Cape Verde.

It is also expected to enhance capacity building; increase the seismic, bathymetric and geological database of The Gambia; and relieved the Gambia of the enormous costs involved in acquiring such data.

In moving the motion, the Vice President said whereas boundaries are generally well-defined and known, maritime boundaries are less so, making the latter a potential source of conflict.

According to her, the UN cognizant of the above in 1982 adopted the ‘Convention on the Law of the Sea, also known as the ‘Convention’ to, among other things, establish a legal order in the world’s oceans and ensure the peaceful and equitable use of the oceans’ resources.

She told deputies that the Gambia government has always and abundantly manifested its resolve towards the maintenance of international peace and security, including the prevention of fault lines and prospects of conflicts associated with the international maritime boundary.

The Vice President added that it is in line with these noble goals that the government joined the community of nations to ratify the UN Convention in 1984.

The motion was seconded by the majority leader and member for Serrekunda East Hon. Fabakary Tombong Jatta and supported by members for Kiang West and Lower Fulladou East constituencies Momodou LK Sanneh and M. Jallow respectively.            

Read Other Articles In Article (Archive)