#Article (Archive)

APRC VS NRP in Nianija

Dec 5, 2008, 6:44 AM | Article By: Abdourahman Sallah

The Independent Electoral Commission, in accordance with section 2 of Degree 78 of 1996, yesterday nominated Mr. Abdoulie Jallow of Chamen village through the opposition NRP party for the position of National Assembly Member for Nianija Constituency in the Jangjangbureh Administrative Area.

According to our correspondent in the Central River Region, the Independent Electoral Commission, has also nominated Mr. Yaya Whan through the ruling APRC party for the position of National Assembly Member for the same constituency.

The elections, slated for 18th December 2008, follow the expulsion of Mr. Dawda Manneh, the erstwhile National Assembly Member for the said constituency from the ruling APRC party on whose ticket he was elected to the National Assembly.

Mr. Dawda Manneh, readers will recall, was arrested on Saturday 13th September 2008 together with one Demba Baldeh, an ex-soldier now working as a Security Guard at the Central Bank for allegedly trying to smuggle a large quantity of cannabis sativa, locally called "jamba".

Speaking to waiting reporters shortly after the nomination, both candidates expressed optimism that they can win and "have the means of bringing development to the Nianija constituency".

Our correspondent also reported that both candidates are expected to attend a reconciliation meeting at the IEC Regional Office in Jangjangbureh, CRR today Friday.