#Article (Archive)

3rd John Baldwin's Memorial Golf Trophy Held

Nov 9, 2009, 1:28 PM | Article By: Cherno O. Bobb

A one-day golf competition sponsored by the Fajara Section ended at the Fajara Golf Course on Saturday 7th November 2009.

The competition, which was the third of its kind, was meant to remember John Baldwin who passed away in June 2007. John Baldwin was a ground member of the Fajara Club for 12 years.

He was also said to be the Golf captain of the Fajara Club in 2003.

The late Baldwin was much loved and respected by the members of the Fajara Club because his doors were opened to everyone.

The competition was staged in a Medal and Texas Scramble Stableford formats.

The medal competition featured six Pro Golfers in which Gibbou Jallow emerged the winner with 68, Yusupha Tamba came out second with 73 and Tijan Kuyateh occupied the third place with 74.

The Texas Scramble Stableford competition featured 28 players, with Hoist Voss and Ronaldo Delgreco emerging the winners of this competition after finishing with 39, while Alan Collins and Mark Karrison took second with 39 and Dave Costello and Bernie Delarclause finished third with 39.

All the winners were awarded with prizes at the end of the competition.