#Article (Archive)

35 players invited for trial ahead of WAFU tourney

Sep 16, 2015, 10:59 AM | Article By: Picture: Gambia U-20 Coach Omar Sise

The Gambia U-20 Coach Omar Sise and his technical staff have formally put in place a provisional list and invited 35 local-based players for trials on Wednesday 16 September 2015 at the National Technical Training Centre in Yundum ahead of the WAFU tournament.

The list would be trimmed down to a final number before the tournament proper, which will take place in Senegal from 3 to 10 October 2015.

The Gambia Football Federation (GFF) said it is preparing its National U-20 Team to take part in the forthcoming one-week football tourney also known as Mawade Wade Memorial tournament, which will bring together all Member Associations of WAFU for the auspicious football occasion.

Only local based players will take part in the tournament that will enable them to showcase their talents as well as serve as a preparatory tournament for the National Teams that will qualify for the African Nations’ Championship, Rwanda 2016.

All matches will take place at the newly rehabilitated Mawade Wade Stadium in St Louis.

Meanwhile the following are the players invited for the trial, which is to take place today: Yusupha Manneh of SereKunda United FC, Kebba Sambou also of SereKunda United FC, Babou Cham of Tallinding United FC, Bakary Samateh of Samger FC, Ebrima Jarju of Real De Banjul FC, Ebrima Sidibeh of Real De Banjul FC, Mbye Faye, Real De Banjul FC; Bubacarr Camara, Real De Banjul FC; Ablie Jallow, Real De Banjul FC; Muhammed Badamosi, Real De Banjul FC; Modou Lamin Badjie, Real De Banjul FC; Omar Jobe, Real De Banjul FC; Bun Sanneh, Real De Banjul FC; Yankuba Jallow, Marimoo FC; Lamin Sonko, Interior FC; Dawda Camara, Bakau United FC; Pa Omar Babou, Banjul United FC; Musa Jatta, Steve Biko FC; Ousman Saine, Steve Biko FC; Modou Lamin Taal, Bombada FC; Hamidou Bojang, Brikama United FC; Daniel Mendy, Brikama United FC; Abdoulie Gomez, Brikama United FC; Sainey Bojang, Brikama United FC; Bubacarr Ceesay, Armed Forces FC; Matarr Ceesay, Armed Forces FC; Alfusainy Jatta, Gamtel FC; Ebrima Jobe, Gamtel FC; Adama Jarju, Gamtel FC; Yahya Ndong, Gamtel FC; Muhammed Kabba, GPA FC; Alagie Sarr, GPA FC; Landing Colley, GPA FC; Yankuba Colley, Hawks FC, and Matarr Mendy, Hawks FC.