#Article (Archive)

16 prisoners get presidential pardon

Oct 21, 2013, 9:09 AM

In exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 82 of the 1997 Constitution of the Republic of the Gambia, President Yahya Jammeh has used this year’s holy feast of Tobaski to pardon a total of 16 prisoners.

A press release issued by the presidency announced last week that the prisoners are to be released from custodial sentence with immediate effect.

Below is the list of those prisoners granted the presidential pardon:

Alfusainey Bah - Gambian, Abdourahman Njie - Gambian, Ansumana Camara - Gambian, Yerra Ceesay - Gambian, Basiru Coker - Gambian, Lamin Bojang – Gambian, Momodou Salieu Krubally – Guinea Conakry, Muhammed Tunkara – Gambian, Cherno Omar Sowe – Gambian, Ousman Cham – Gambian, Yankuba Makasuba – Gambian, Buba Cham – Gambian, Lamin Samura – Gambian, Foday Jabula – Gambian, Ebrima Ceesay – Gambian, Sirra Ceesay – Gambian.