Coach Saintfiet unveils provisional squad For November AFCON qualifiers

Oct 27, 2020, 12:53 PM

Scorpions coach Tom Saintfiet has released a provisional squad of 38 players selected for Gambia’s double header against Gabon in the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers scheduled for next month.

The Scorpions take on the Panthers slated for 12 November in Franceville with the return in Banjul on 16 November 2020.

The squad comprises the bulk of players that were engaged at the team’s training camp in Portugal where the Gambia beat Congo one nil in an international friendly as part of technical preparations ahead of the resumption of Qualifiers in November.

However, mid fielder Hamza Barry and a few others are still out of the squad due to injuries they sustained earlier.

Coach Saintfiet would trim the number to 23 players to make the final list for the double-legged tie with The Gabonese.

Coach Saintfiet and his charges will play away to Gabon on Thursday 12 November 2020 in Franceville and at home on Monday 16 November 2020 at the Independence Stadium in Bakau.

The Gambia is resuming its Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers campaign following the Scorpions emphatic 3-1 away win in Luanda after coming from behind with two goals from Assan Ceesay and a late Sulayman Marreh strike to take all three points away from home.

The victory was Gambia’s first away triumph in a competitive fixture for 36 years since the Gambia defeated Mauritania in 1983.

This has highlighted the progress made under Belgian coach Tom Saintfiet. The win was boosted by a home draw to Democratic Republic of Congo at two all.


  1. Modou Jobe                         (FC Jeddah, Saudi Arabia)
  2. Sheikh Sibi                          (Virtus Verona, Italy)
  3. Baboucarr Gaye                   (Rot Weiss Koblenz, Germany)
  4. Salifu Senghore                    (FC Lahti, Finland)
  5. Pa Modou Jagne                    (Switzerland)
  6. Robin Utseth Björnholm-Jatta (Stjördals Blink IL, Norway)
  7. Noah Sonko Sundberg           (FK Östersunds, Sweden)
  8. Omar Colley                          (Sampdoria, Italy)
  9. Buba Sanneh                         (Anderlecht, Belgium)
  10. Maudo Jarjué                         (Austria Wien, Austria)
  11. Dawda Ngum                         (BK Bronshoj, Denmark)
  12. Mohammed Mbye                  (IFÖ Brömölla, Sweden)
  13. Moussa Kamara                     (FC Balzan, Malta)
  14. Sheriff Sinyan                         (Molde FK, Norway)
  15. Ngine Faye Njie                      (CasaSports, Senegal)
  16. Sulayman Bojang                   (Saprsborg 09, Norway)
  17. Sulayman Marreh                   (AA Gent, Belgium)
  18. Alasana Manneh                     (Gornik Zabrze, Poland)
  19. Yusupha Bobb                         Italy
  20. Ebrima Darboe                        (AS Roma, Italy)
  21. Ebrima Sohna                          (FC Mosta, Malta)
  22. Sainey Njie                              (DAC Dunajská Streda, Slovakia)
  23. Ebrima Colley                           (Hellas Verona, Italy)
  24. Musa Barrow                            (FC Bologna, Italy)
  25. Modou Barrow                          (Jeonbuk, South Korea)
  26. Buba Jobe                                (Ogryte, Sweden)
  27. Lamin Jallow                             (Vincenza, Italy)
  28. Ablie Jallow                               (RFC Seraing, Belgium)
  29. Musa Juwara                            (Boavista, Portugal)
  30. Bubacarr Steve Trawally              (Ajman Club, UAE)
  31. Abdoulie Sanyang                      (Beerschot, Belgium)
  32. Kalifa Manneh                            (Catania, Italy)
  33. Adama Jammeh                         (Etoile du Sahel, Tunisia)
  34. Assan Ceesay                            (FC Zürich, Switzerland)
  35. Nuha Marong Krubally                 (Granada, Spain)
  36. Muhammed Badamosi                (KV Kortrijk, Belgium)
  37. Alassana Jatta                            (Viborg FF, Denmark)
  38. Dembo Darboe                          (FC Shkupi, North Macedonia)


Read Other Articles In Sports
Musa Juwara v2
Who is Musa Juwara? From Gambia by boat to scoring against Inter
Jul 10, 2020, 1:21 PM

Musa Juwara arrived in Italy in 2016 on a boat as an unaccompanied minor, and since then, a new family and football have changed his life.

Gamtel misery continues in 1st Division League
Jan 25, 2021, 12:40 PM

Gamtel misery continued in the 2020-2021 Gambia Football Federation (GFF) Division One League season following their latest defeat by Real De Banjul in their week-two match played at the National Technical Training Centre on Saturday.

Saudi Arabia v2
Saudi Arabia Football Federation prexy greets GFF president
Aug 3, 2020, 2:29 PM

The President of Saudi Arabia Football Federation Yasser Hassan Almisehal has greeted his Gambian counterpart Lamin Kaba Bajo on the occasion of the Muslim feast Eid Al Adha (Tobaski).

GFF 1 Division League Update
May 24, 2021, 1:39 PM