UDP national youth wing congress ends in NBR

Jan 18, 2021, 11:10 AM | Article By: Adama Tine in Farafenni

With renewed calls for youths’ involvement in politics, the United Democratic Party (UDP) over the weekend held its national youth wing congress in Farafenni, North Bank Region (NBR) where thousands of militants gathered to grace the party’s second ever youth congress.

The congress re-elected Sulaman Saho as president of the male youth wing.

Speaking at the opening, Sulayman 

Saho, president of the youth wing extended his profound gratitude to the secretary general and leader of United Democratic Party (UDP), Lawyer Ousainou Darboe and the entire leadership of the party.

Mr. Saho said the congress was a constitutional requirement of the United Democratic Party to organise elections periodically as there are positions that are very crucial.

“We are honouring this day to make our party a Democratic Party for people to make their choice in selecting who they want and this goes down to the structure at the constituency level, regional level and ward level,” he added.

Mr. Saho continued that the main idea of the congress was to engage the youths into politics as they want to build a nation and that in building a nation, “youths cannot be left behind, they have to be at the centre and be fully involved.”

“Our Party is a peaceful party and we try to promote culture of peace in anything that we do and we call on youths to maintain peace, dignity and discipline,” he added.

The congress wrapped up electing the following at the executive level;

Youth Wing:

  1. Sulayman Saho, Youth President
  2. Karim Touray, 1st Vice president
  3. Hagi Suwaneh, 2nd vice president
  4. Kemo Bojang, Secretary General
  5. Lamin Ceesay, Deputy Secretary
  6. Sulayman Bojang, Treasurer
  7. Lamin Saho, Deputy Treasurer
  8. Babucarr Jammeh, Organising Secretary
  9. Alagie Fofana, Deputy organising Secretary
  10. Mbemba Kuyateh, Auditor

Female Youth Wing:

  1. Jimbeh Ceesay, President
  2. Binneh Marong, 1st vice president
  3. Awa Tambedou, 2nd vice president
  4. Yakumba Jaiteh, Secretary General
  5. Mariama Camara, Deputy Secretary General
  6. Matty Kanyi Sambou, Treasurer
  7. Neneh Isatou Jallow, Deputy Treasurer
  8. Kuta Fatty, Auditor

Read Other Articles In Headlines
Diaspora Gambians sue IEC, AG to comply with Supreme Court’s order
Jun 25, 2021, 11:03 AM

Five Gambians of the Diaspora have filed an Ex parte motion before the High Court of Banjul seeking an Order of Mandamus from the court that compels the Attorney General and the Independent Electoral Commission to comply with the Judgment of the Supreme Court that orders the IEC and the State of The Gambia to provide equal access to Gambians in the Diaspora for registering as voters and participate in all public or general elections held in The Gambia particularly, the coming December 2021 Presidential election.

ECOMIG soldiers flee scene after allegedly killing 2
Sep 6, 2021, 2:17 PM

Bystanders and witnesses familiar to the scene revealed to this medium that the ECOWAS military mission in The Gambia (ECOMIG) soldiers assigned to promote peace and enforce law and order in the country fled the scene after allegedly killing four innocent individuals who were driving a tricycle at the Mariama Kunda Junction along Salagi road. 

Ensa Faal v6
Faal pledges boost  in employability, salary increment 
Nov 15, 2021, 12:56 PM

Independent candidate backed by the Turn Around Movement, Essa Mbye Faal, on Thursday made pledges to boost employment to ensure more jobs for Gambian youths and youngsters and for better salaries in contrast to the current ones.

yankuba v2
GRA boss extols cooperation among provincial security
Jun 22, 2021, 2:32 PM

Commissioner General Yankuba Darboe of the Gambia Revenue Authority (GRA) has stressed on the need for team spirit, strong cooperation and solidarity within the security forces in a bid to complement each other's effort in national development.