#Article (Archive)


Nov 4, 2019, 1:28 PM

Lamin Darboe

Pakalinding Village emerged champions in the Kutehjumbulu Honorable Kajali Fofana’s Trophy final on Saturday 26th October 2019 at Jarra Soma Mini Stadium after defeating Dibba Oil Academy by three goals to two (3 - 2)

The two teams first battled earlier on dated 5th of October and there was no winner during the 90 Minutes as well as the penalty shoot-out.

In Saturday’s replay final, it was a completely different scenario. Yaya Camara put Pakalinding Village in front with a brilliant finished master minded by Abou Ceesay in the 18th minute. After the break Pakalinding’s new entrance Kaweng Conteh increased his side’s advantage to 2 - 0 and few minutes later Dibba Oil pulled one from the spot which was beautifully converted by Lamin Jatta. Both team continued with a brilliant display by creating numerous chances before Pakalinding got thier third goal courtesy of Musa Jarjusey in the 68th minute.

Alieu Jammeh restored hope for Dibba Oil with a super header ten minutes before end of normal time and changed the scoreboard to (3-2), Pakalinding though defended the rest of the remaining minutes very well before the final whistle. It ended Pakalinding 3 -2 Dibba Oil Academy.

Pakalinding Village as winners went home with a giant trophy and cash price of D20, 000 while Dibba Oil bagged D15, 000 as runners. Alieu Jammeh grabbed an individual award for being the leading goal poacher scoring a total of nine goals and Abou Ceesay of Pakalinding went with the best player award. Jiffin village were the most improved team while C1000 football club were the most disciplined team.

The Final was graced by thousands of spectators, was them were Gambia Football Federation’s secretary general Mr Lamin Jassey, Deputy governor of LRR Mr Kebba Darboe, Chairman Mansakonko Area Council Mr Landing B Sanneh, CEO Mansakonko Area Council Mr Pa Sait Ceesay, Chief of Jarra West District Ahlagie Yaya Jarjusey, Mr Lamin SL Darboe Chairman of regional sports committee, Pa Suwareh Faye of real de Banjul football club, Adama Sabally of Kanifing municipal sports committee, Lamin Dembajang of Brikama sports committee, Mr Papa Fofana Dext officer youth and sport LRR among others.