#Article (Archive)

UDP expels 8 NAMs

Nov 15, 2019, 1:38 PM

The United Democratic Party (UDP) has expelled eight National Assembly Members (NAMs) who were accused of shifting allegiance to President Adama Barrow at the expense of UDP.

The dispelled lawmakers include: Fatoumatta Jawara, Alagie Jawara, Billay Tunkara, Abdoulie Ceesay, Saikouba Jarju, Saikou Marong, Baba Galleh Jallow and Omar Darboe.

A source who preferred to remain anonymous told Kerr Fatou that the eight lawmakers were expelled from the party because of their unabashed loyalty to Barrow.

Barrow was a member of the UDP who fell out with the party after becoming president. According to Kerr Fatou, the party would issue a statement on the matter today.