#Article (Archive)

Tomorrow is D-Day for Gambian Football

Jul 30, 2013, 10:41 AM | Article By: Lamin Cham

Hundreds of people in the form of delegates, journalists and observers have been accredited and would witness the election of the President and other executive members of the Gambia Football Federation, GFF, tomorrow morning at the Friendship Hotel hall of the Independence Stadium.

The process brings to an end 15 months of transition, following the dissolution of the former GFA executive committee in March 2012.

For many football experts, this is perhaps the most gripping elections and the only one to have created such great excitement around the country.

And the stakes could not be higher too; the next president has a herculean task to implement the provisions of the new constitution with its far-reaching implications for the national football landscape.

Both aspirants Mustapha Kebbeh and Modou Musa said they are up to the task, and have been leading teams to canvass for votes through promotional appearances and interviews in the media.

Mr Kebbeh accused his opponent of being the project of the Normalization Committee as a continuation of its persecution of the former stakeholders, while Mr Musa’s camp described Kebbeh’s strategies of aligning himself with the former officials as out of touch with current realities.

Many analysts have spoken of a close contest, since both sides are claiming to have good acceptance among the 51 voting delegates.

Meanwhile, Modou Musa has revealed their team of executive members last night, with Willy Abraham coming in as first vice president, Martin Gomez as second VP, and Abou Khan as third VP. Others to serve as members are Lamin Camara, Joe Kalamba Sambou, Nyima Manneh and Naffisatou Secka.

The Kebbeh camp has lined up the following: Mustapha Kebbeh as President, Buba Star Janneh of Bombada FC as first VP, Kebba Touray of Gamtel as second VP andBasiru Bajo of Brikama United as Third VP.

Meanwhile, the Normalization Committee last night released the final list of 51 voting delegates to Wednesday’s congress. We reproduce it below for the benefit of our readers:

Delegates to the GFF Congress.

First Division Clubs

Armed Forces FC

Musa Jammeh

Ebrima Cham Gibba

Bakau United FC

Bori Darboe

Brimaka United FC

Alhagie Darboe

Basirou Bajo

Real de Banjul FC

William Abraham

Bakary Jammeh

Young Africans FC

Modou Sowe

Ousainou Darboe

Seaview FC

Tombong Saidy

Saihou Jammeh

Gambia Ports Authority FC

Arthur Ashcroft

Abdoulie Njie

Steve Biko FC

Mustapha Kebbeh

Gamtel FC

Kebba Touray

Momodou L Jatta.

Samger FC

Jane Joof

Omar Badjie

Hawks FC

Sang Ndong

Sadibu Kamaso

Interior FC

Manlafi Barry

Pa Badjie

Second Division Clubs

Bombada FC

Buba Janneh

Latrikunda UnitedFC

Shekh Tijan Faye

Mustapha Faye

Talindingding United FC

Alhagie Jandi

Alhagie Nyassi


Ebrima Jallow

Ousman Darmmeh

Serekunda UnitedFC

Joe Sambou

Malick Camara


Mawya Deen

Demba Conateh

Banjul UnitedFC

Ebou Faye

Ebou Ndure

Sait Matty FC


Ousman Janneh

Lamin Unted FC

Dodou Bojang

Mustapha Manneh

Serekunda United FC

Pa Lamin Sillah

Wahab Manneh


KMRegional Football Association

Bakary Dampha

Omar Danso

Saihou Bah

Banjul RegionalFootball Association

Modou Sowe

Oumie Bittaye


West Coast Regional Football Association

Abdou Karim Sey

Bakary Bojang

Modou Camara

CRR Regional Football Association

Numukunda Kanyi

Pa Boy Trawally

Nyima Manneh

NBR Regional Football Association

Ramou Ndow

Abu Kahn

Ousman Jallow

URRRegional Football Association


Mohamadou L.Sanneh.

Furu Gomez

LRR Regional Football Association

Wandifa Kinteh

Buba Saidy

Ansuman Sanneh

SchoolsFootball Association


Martin Gomez

Gambia Football Coaches Association

Mafugie Jatta

Ebrima Manneh.

Gambia Football Referees Association

Lamin Camara

Baboucar Jallow

Gambia Women Football Association

Dessamba Mbenga

Momodou Demba