#Article (Archive)

SJAG National Sports Award Night is today

Apr 10, 2015, 10:32 AM | Article By: Alieu Ceesay, SJAG Assistant SG

After months of preparation by the event’s organizing committee, all roads will lead to the Kairaba Beach Hotel today, Friday 10 April, where the 6th National Sports Awards and Gala Night organized by the Sports Journalists’ Association of The Gambia (SJAG) will be staged.

The event is meant to award and celebrate present and past sports personalities that have contribute immensely toward sports development in the country.

Prominent sports and non-sports personalities, from within and outside the country, will be gracing today’s event, which the organizing committee is prepared to stage in a spectacular fashion.

Musa Sise, acting president of SJAG who also doubles as the chairman of the Awards Committee, is therefore calling on all those who have been issued invitation cards to attend the event and on time.

According to him, the event will start at 8pm sharp and, therefore, all are expected to be at the venue on time.

“There will also be entertainment by Gambia’s finest artistes, among them Cess Ngum, Bai Babu, Jali Neneh Susso, Manding Morry, and Modou Kara Gaye.”

Sise who has been at the forefront of all the preparations also seized the opportunity to thank those institutions, companies, and individuals who have, in one way or the other, supported the association ahead of the event. He equally commended members of the Awards Committee for their commitment and sacrifice in staging the event.

Today’s night, the SJAG’s acting headwent on, will witness the awarding and celebration of the 1985/86 Zone II squad of both The Gambia and Senegal.

“We are expecting a high-powered delegation from Senegal, including their veterans and journalists who will join us tonight. So we are calling on our invitees to come and join us to celebrate our fellow country men and women in sports,” the veteran journalists added.

The nominees for the different categories for 2013-2014 season are:

‘Best Coach of the Year Award’ - Matarr Mboge, former Real de Banjul Coach; Lamin Anthony Ceesay of Bombada and Foday Singateh of YMCA Basketball;

Best Local Based Athletes of the Year - wrestler Leket Bu Barra, Babucarr Trawally formerly of Real de Banjul, and Pa Cherno Bah of YMCA basketball team;

Best Foreign Based Athletes - Boxer Patrick John Mendy, Hamza Barry, and Kekuta Manneh.

Best Referee of the Year - Mawdo Jallow, Bakary Camara and Sheriff Njie;

Best Team of the Year - Real de Banjul, Bombada and YMCA basketball team.