#Article (Archive)

Santa Yalla lift Fass Omar Saho title

Oct 2, 2015, 11:32 AM | Article By: Adama Makasuba

Santa Yalla FC on 29 September 2015 defeated Paradise FM FC 3-0 on post-match penalty shootout following a 1-all draw on regulation time, to be crowned Fass Omar Saho nawetan champions.

The final, played in grand style, was graced by hundreds of football lovers from the village and its satellite villages.

Santa Yalla FC took the lead through Abdoulie Njie’s own goal in the 24th minute of the game but skipper Ebou Colley Joof leveled proceedings for his side in the 50th minute, thus the encounter ended 1-1, proceeding to penalty kicks which ended 3-0 in favour of Santa Yalla FC.

As winner, Santa Yalla FC went home with a trophy and a cash of D3,000 while runners-up Paradise FM FC collected a consolation prize of D2,000.

Santa Yalla FC again lifted the knockout trophy by beating Star FM FC by 5-4 on penalty kicks.