#Article (Archive)

Rangers FC Are Kuloro Senior Champions

Aug 31, 2009, 7:13 AM | Article By: Lamin B. Darboe

Rangers FC are the champions of 2009 Kuloro Nawettan season, after beating One Tribe by two goals to zero, recently played at Kuloro Lower Basic School football field in Kombo East District of the Western Region, organised by Kuloro Youths and Sport Development Association (KYSDA).

Rangers FC S' first goal was registered by Alasana Gasama, No. 17 in the 78th minutes of the second half and in the 83rd minutes of the dying minutes of the match, Rangers FC's captain Lamin Jallow scored his team second goal.

The match ended 2-0 in favour of Rangers FC and as champions Rangers FC went home with D3500.00, while One Tribe as runners-up received D2, 500.00.

The most discipline award went to Hawks football team of a cash price of D300.00, while Lamin Jallow, the captain for Rangers FC received D100.00 as the leading goal scorer during the tournament.

Speaking to this reporter, the Treasurer of Kuloro Youths and Sport Development Association (KYSDA), Saikou Jawo said eight teams took part in the tournament.

According to Mr. Jawo, some of the teams who participated in the tournament came from outside Kuloro Village, adding that the kick-off was taken by the Councilor for Pirang Ward, Mr. Omar Sowe.

The teams that participated in Kuloro Nawettan were One Tribe, Hawks, New Town, Saraba FC, Bonto United, Afia FC, Sitajoyeh FC, and Rangers FC.