#Article (Archive)

New National Assembly Members sworn in

Apr 12, 2017, 11:34 AM | Article By: Kaddijatou Jawo

The 58 successful candidates in the just concluded parliamentary elections were yesterday sworn in at the National Assembly in Banjul.

The United Democratic Party (UDP) has a total of 31 seats (NA members) from various Constituencies at the National Assembly.

The National Reconciliation Party (NRP) has 5 seats, the Gambia Democratic Congress (GDC) 5 seats, the APRC 5 seats, the PDOIS 4 seats, the PPP 2 seats, and one seat is occupied by an Independent candidate representing Basse constituency.

Kebba K. Barrow, an elected MP for Kombo South under the UDP ticket, was also elected as the Majority Leader of the National Assembly.

The Minority Leader of the National Assembly, Hon. Samba Jallow, is from the National Reconciliation Party. He was elected to serve as Minority Leader after a stiff competition from other parties with minority seats in the National Assembly such as the GDC, APRC, and PDOIS.

Hon. Samba Jallow has now emerged as Minority Leader of the National Assembly twice consecutively – both in the Jammeh and Barrow governments.

Hon. Jallow, who won under the NRP ticket, is the National Assembly Member for Niamina Dankunku.

The five members nominated by President Barrow to serve in the National Assembly are: Hon. Mariam Jack-Denton (who is Speaker of the House), Hon. Momodou Lamin Sanneh (Deputy Speaker), Hon. M. S. Kumba Jaiteh, Hon. Ndey Yassin Secka, and Hon. Majanko Samusa.