#Article (Archive)

Gambia National Wrestling Organising Committee inaugurated

May 14, 2012, 1:40 PM | Article By: Adama K. Jallow

The Gambia National Wrestling Association, in collaboration with the Kanilai International Cultural Committee, on 10 May 2012 inaugurated its committee at the Independence Stadium in Bakau, for the upcoming proposed national wrestling championship.

In his inaugural speech, Malang Jassey, Deputy Permanent Secretary, on behalf of the Minister of Youths and Sport, said the committee is ensuring and achieving the President’s goal as the mastermind of the committee to developing wrestling in the country.

“This will help in the participation of both the national and global level, and therefore come out with victories,” he said, adding that the national championship can help the country to scout out the most talented wrestlers from across the nation to put up a good national team for global competition.

The DPS further urged members of the private sector, as well as the regions, to continue their support to wrestling to achieving the national endeavour.

For his part, Mamudou Max Jallow, executive secretary of the National Sports Council, said the national event cannot be done in isolation of the organizing committee, nor the associations, and further appealed for collective work with stakeholders in enhancing the sport.

The organizing committee will be tasked with organizing the national championship, he said, adding that the budget for the championship had been set at D1,557,550 to cater for all the representatives from all the regions, and other expenses in sustaining the entire period of the championship.

Max Jallow therefore appealed to the government, stakeholders, the public and private sectors, institutions and individuals to come to their aid in preparing for the championship.

The selected national organizing committee members include Omar Touray, Mattar Jarjue, Kawsu Sanneh, Abdoulie Bojang, Abdul Shyllon, Ebou Faye, Pa Suwareh Faye, Mamudou Max Jallow, Abdoul Aziz Titao Mendy, Adam Lowe, Modou Arra Sanneh, Antony B. Jammeh, Kebba Bojang, Biran Mbye, Lt. Col. Babucarr Sanyang, Pa Mattar Ndow, Pa Modou Faal, Alhagie Cham, Modou S. Jallow, Henry Moore, Habibou Nyassi and Malang Jassey.